Page 1 of 1
atmega programming test

Posted:
Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:48 am
by tigershot1
I understand that a new securely programmed chip is required now for future firmware upgrades, but I am trying to program my atmega 324p using the old bootloader just to make sure I wired it up right and what not. I have PonyProg set up for parallel->avr isp i/o->lpt1 with the programmer cable and usb connected to the computer, but I get the "Device Missing or unknown device (-24)" error no matter what operation I try. I made sure the parallel port was on in BIOS and Linux recognizes it (/dev/lp0). Also tried on a Windows XP computer, same deal. Any suggestions on how to fix this/tests i can try?
Re: atmega programming test

Posted:
Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:59 am
by dmitri
1. Check cable/wiring for short/breaks.
2. Make sure you power Atmega up when trying to program it.
Re: atmega programming test

Posted:
Fri Jun 18, 2010 9:14 am
by ignotus
In order to be able to write to the parallel port in linux I have to type the following commands in the terminal:
sudo modprobe parport_pc
(enter sudo password)
modprobe ppdev
modprobe parport
After I do that ponyprog works no problem.
Re: atmega programming test

Posted:
Fri Jun 18, 2010 6:33 pm
by tigershot1
While checking the cable I decided to check the pins for the ISP into the atmega and it turned out one of them was improperly soldered. Works fine now, and thanks for the help guys. Dmitri, how should I arrange to ship the atmega out to you, via PM? I think I'll do it in 2-3 weeks, just so I can fool around with it a little first.
Re: atmega programming test

Posted:
Fri Jun 18, 2010 6:40 pm
by dmitri
tigershot1 wrote:While checking the cable I decided to check the pins for the ISP into the atmega and it turned out one of them was improperly soldered. Works fine now, and thanks for the help guys. Dmitri, how should I arrange to ship the atmega out to you, via PM? I think I'll do it in 2-3 weeks, just so I can fool around with it a little first.
Yes, you can PM me.
Re: atmega programming test

Posted:
Fri Jun 18, 2010 9:13 pm
by pfhor
tigershot1 wrote:While checking the cable I decided to check the pins for the ISP into the atmega and it turned out one of them was improperly soldered. Works fine now, and thanks for the help guys. Dmitri, how should I arrange to ship the atmega out to you, via PM? I think I'll do it in 2-3 weeks, just so I can fool around with it a little first.
Unless money is really tight I'd consider just buying a new programmed Atmega from Dmitri as outlined in the other thread(s). That way you don't lose the functionality of your module in the meantime.
ignotus wrote:In order to be able to write to the parallel port in linux I have to type the following commands in the terminal:
sudo modprobe parport_pc
(enter sudo password)
modprobe ppdev
modprobe parport
After I do that ponyprog works no problem.
You should just have those kernel modules (parport_pc, ppdev, parport) auto-loaded at boot then. Your distro's wiki will probably have instructions for how to include them.
Re: atmega programming test

Posted:
Fri Jun 25, 2010 4:39 pm
by Ken Forgettable
tigershot1 wrote:... but I get the "Device Missing or unknown device (-24)" error no matter what operation I try.
This is a known issue with this software - just click 'ignore' or whatever the option is to continue.
Re: atmega programming test

Posted:
Sat Jul 03, 2010 5:37 pm
by tigershot1
Well I didn't want to clutter up the forum with another topic, so I'll post here although the problem is unrelated to the original topic.
My megadrum is more or less complete, but a problem I've run into is if I hit two inputs at the same time e.g. hi hat and kick simultaneously, one of the inputs will randomly drop out and not produce a MIDI signal. I would say it drops the signal about 40% of the time when hitting two pads at the same time. I'm using firmware version 20091217 at the moment, as I want to clear out all my issues before sending the atmega for the secure bootloader. Everything seems to trigger perfectly when hit by itself. The LCD screen will not register the dropped hits either, so I don't think its a MIDI/computer issue. Can anyone shed some light on this?
Re: atmega programming test

Posted:
Sat Jul 03, 2010 7:16 pm
by dmitri
You need either lower crosstalk suppression level for these inputs or put these two inputs into two different suppression groups but in the latter case you will need good physical separation between pads.